Revolution versus Rebellion

Abstract:

Let them take arms. The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots.

 – Thomas Jefferson

Thinking of revolution is a difficult task. I am conflicted as to where I begin and how I should think of and about, the meaning of the word revolution. Initially, I wished to study the Grenada Revolution (1979) and its relationship to/with Fidel Castro and Cuba’s Revolution (1959) and using the Arab Spring (2009 – 2011) as an intellectual accessory, but, I continuously came across existential hurdles and anthropological roadblocks. How can I think of revolution without violence and political upheaval? Is revolution predicated on bloodshed and the loss of lives? If this is the case, then do I support revolutions? Should we not distinguish revolution from political overthrow or a military rebellion? Therefore, I have re-imagined this article and have simplified my approach; I will attempt for clarity and hopefully find answers to four questions (expressed above). The writings of Ruth Benedict Patterns of Culture, Ewart Layne We Move Tonight: The Making of the Grenada Revolution, Hisham Matar The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between, Che Guevara The Motorcycle Diaries: Notes on a Latin American Journey, and Albert Camus through Robert Zaretsky’s A Life Worth Living: Albert Camus and the Quest for Meaning, will be utilised to construct a meditative discourse on revolution.

If you are interested in the rest of this manuscript (7000 words), kindly let me know.

E-mail: rouga359@newschool.edu

Leave a Reply

